Post-Super Bowl Detox.

Since the Super Bowl and it’s menu, we’ve been detoxing.  Last night was a salad with tomato, avocado, Kalamata olives, shaved parmesean and Yukon gold potatoes tossed in vinaigrette while still warm.  I cut the potatoes into coins so they’d cook faster and added a little of the starchy, salty potato cooking water to the vinaigrette to thin it out, a Cook’s Illustrated recommendation from their French Potato Salad recipe, which is so good.  I also added hard boiled eggs, which I peeled at the last minute, after I took this picture.  I had basil and parsley, so I added them to a basic vinaigrette.

Although it was a few nights ago and we’re trying to forget about it around here, the Super Bowl menu was:  Tyler Florence’s Crisp Chicken Wings with Chili-Lime Butter, Guacamole and Baked Alaska.  I had planned to make DALS’s Pork Ragu as well, but when we realized it would just be us, we knew we’d never be able to eat all that food.  The Pork Ragu was Saturday night’s dinner and is always so delicious.

Prior to Sunday, I can’t remember the last time I ate a chicken wing.  But I will be making these again.  The only deviation I made to Tyler’s recipe was to use a little more red curry paste than called for.  They  are now our go-to wing recipe.  For the one time a year I plan to make wings.  If the Patriots are playing.

I also used Tyler Florence’s guacamole recipe from his “Dinner at My Place” cookbook.  For years, I used Ina Garten’s guacamole recipe, but I love the addition of olive oil in Tyler’s recipe and I love the uniform look of it.  The fundamental difference between the two recipes is lemon vs. lime as the acid, and I prefer the lime.  Adding olive oil to guacamole may seem like adding fat to fat, but I think that’s what makes it so smooth and palatable.  The cilantro and the fresh jalepeno are perfect and I love that the green isn’t punctuated by tomato.   Tyler’s recipes are always good and I’m a fan.  Not only because he recently tweeted a link to Christopher Walken reading “Where the Wild Things Are,” but that makes me like him even more.

For dessert, I made Baked Alaska, which may seem a little retro, but is so delicious.  My original intention was to make individual Baked Alaskas, but again, when we realized it was just going to be us, I became much less ambitious.  I used coffee ice cream and a basic merangue recipe (Six egg whites, 1/8 cream of tartar and about 1/4 cup of sugar).

The salad was a detox from a fairly unusual, heavy menu.  If only we could detox the outcome of the game.

Leave a Reply

