I Didn’t Have a Dinner Plan

It shouldn’t surprise me that dinner will happen every night at roughly the same time, but sometimes, like last night, I put it off for so long to accomplish other tasks that when the time arrives to either make dinner or order pizza, I panic and make pasta.  With broccoli that had been around for about a day too long, we ended up with Roasted Broccoli and Mushroom Orecchiette with Breadcrumbs.

I used to classify “roasting” in the category of things to do on weekends or on days when I was so together that I had a dinner plan in the a.m. and had plenty of time before the dinner panic.  But the truth is that in the time it takes the oven to preheat to roasting temperature (425 degrees) the vegetables can be prepped, pasta water can be started and a salad dressing can be made.  And with just about a pound of broccoli, it can be perfectly roasted in about 20 minutes.  Although it used to seem counterintuitive to me, a roasted vegetable and pasta dinner can be ready in less time it takes for a pizza to arrive.

I added a clove of garlic, crushed red pepper and olive oil to the broccoli.  When the broccoli looked perfectly roasted, I added about a half cup of panko breadcrumbs to the sheet pan to provide a little crunch to an otherwise mushy meal.

Not my best effort, but it was better than ordering pizza

– Catherine

Leave a Reply

