White Bean Soup with Rosemary and Bacon and Kale Salad (or Almost Meatless Monday)

I guess “Almost Meatless Monday” is like being a little bit pregnant, but I had four slices of bacon just begging to be used.   I also make this soup without the bacon and both versions are delicious.  For last night’s version, I cooked four slices of chopped bacon until crisp and then removed the bacon but kept the drippings to saute an onion, two cloves of garlic and about a teaspoon of chopped fresh rosemary.  I added a pound and a half of white Navy beans that I had soaked for about six hours, four cups of chicken broth, three cups of water and salt and pepper.   When the beans were cooked, I used an immersion blender to blend it until it was the consistency we like and topped each bowl with the crisp bacon and a sprig of rosemary.

For the kale salad, I washed and spun the kale and tossed it with a lemon vinaigrette and crumbled goat cheese.

Tuesday is a better day to go meatless anyway.

– Catherine

Leave a Reply

