Asian twist to Ina G.

Image

I make no secret about my desire to be Ina Garten when I grow up.  I once wore a sombrero and went barefoot for a week hoping someone would nickname me the “Barefoot Contessa”.  By day seven I had blistered feet but I had managed to keep the sun off of my face and neck.  It’s a tradeoff.  The nickname didn’t pan out but I can still dream.  Ina G., as we refer to her around here, is a lot like me.  The only difference is that I don’t have a house in the Hamptons, my own TV show, brand of pantry items and Jeffery.  Except for those things, I think I am just like her.  I believe simple, quality ingredients can make a simple, flavorful and elegant meal with not too many pans or extra equipment.

One of our favorite Ina G. meals is her panfried chicken breasts with baby greens and a lemon vinaigrette.   I made this again last night with a few tweaks.  We are not buying groceries now because we’re getting ready to move.  For the next few weeks I will be making dinner with whatever is on hand which can either turn out a surprise fan favorite or something that requires pizza on speed dial.  Last night I hit it out of the park.  My husband actually said he “LIKED IT BETTER THAN INA G’s RECIPE.”  WHAT?!?!  I put an Asian twist on it with the addition of almost a teaspoon of sesame oil, a tablespoon of freshly grated ginger, honey, rice wine vinegar and grapeseed oil.  I panfried the chicken according to her recipe but placed the chicken on top of a bed of fresh spinach, zucchini, grape tomatoes and red peppers.

I’m not going to say I did it better than Ina.  I don’t have to, my husband already did.  Just kidding Mrs. Garten.

– Andra

Trackbacks

  1. […] this meal?  From here and here.  It’s an oldie but goodie.  Quick, delicious and complete.   This was dinner on Tuesday […]

Leave a Reply

