International Sick Day

For the past two days, I’ve had a sick 3 1/2-year old.  It may take a village to raise a child, but around here it takes an international culinary community to nurse a sick one.  I have the best Vermicelli and letter shaped pastas (all made in Mexico) from a Latin Grocery around the corner that I use in soups, especially on sick days.  We’d spell stuff out with the letters, but none of us speak Spanish and we wouldn’t know any words to make.

When I was growing up and was home sick from school, there was nothing better than a cold bowl of canned lychees with some of the sweet syrup they’re packed in to soothe a sore throat.

And what sick day would be complete without Ginger Ale?  (Okay, I know Canada Dry isn’t really FROM Canada.  Or I do now that I’ve read the label.  So why isn’t it called Plano, Texas Dry?)

I wish you and your family good health.

– Catherine

Leave a Reply

