A Little More Tutu and A Little Less “Toddlers and Tiaras”

I had a really ambitious dinner plan for last night.  Our daughter participated in her first dance recital yesterday and I thought we’d be celebrating as a family over dinner hours after arriving home.  She’s four years old.  Her most complicated dance routine to date has been “This is My Left Foot, This is My Right Foot.”

Given her age and dance credentials, I was expecting an adorable recital filled with pale pink tutus, wobbly plies and classical music.  Imagine our surprise when we realized that the recital included all dancers in the 2-18 year-old ranges, wearing shockingly revealing sequined costumes and makeup (which did not look like it was applied by loving mothers) while bumping and grinding to songs like “Barbie World”.  Have you heard the lyrics to “Barbie World”?

Oh, and did I mention that the recital lasted four hours?  All of which may have been tolerable if I wasn’t holding my other 18-month old daughter on my lap the entire time.  By the end of the 33-act (33!) recital, my arms and brain were equally sore.

Needless to say, we were shell-shocked when we got home.  Coffee-rubbed steaks and asparagus (a favorite of the four-year old set) was not happening.  Instead, my kids ate Kraft Macaroni and Cheese and my husband and I ate the most mentally restorative egg, avocado and cheese sandwiches for dinner.

One side of the sandwich was a classic “Toad in a Hole”; a piece of bread toasted in a skillet with an egg cooked in a hole removed by a biscuit cutter.  The other side of the sandwich was an intact piece of toast layered with cheddar cheese and sliced avocado.  When sliced in half, the runny yolk flavored each bite of the sandwich it touched with golden deliciousness.

It will be forever called our “Wishful Tutu” sandwich.   We paired huge glasses of red wine with dinner and toasted to the beginning of soccer season…

– Catherine

Comments

  1. Hi Miss Catherine,

    I checked out your blog so that I could borrow some of your genius ideas. Most of them are way beyond my skill level. I request that you post some very simple yet awesomely delicious meals. Thank you! And I posted one of your links on my Facebook page.

    Your fan,
    Miss Jen

Leave a Reply

