Chinese Five Spice Pork Lettuce Wraps

Last night, I made this pork, but simplified it by using a 3-pound pork loin and searing it whole, instead of cutting it up as the recipe indicates and using more chicken stock to cover it halfway.  I figure if it gets a good sear and it’s going to be braised anyway, why add a step?

We eat this with either romaine or butter lettuce, whichever I have on hand (last night I had romaine), a pot of jasmine rice, scallions and lime and then add a little bit of hoisin and Sriracha at the table.

I put the rice cooker, pork and condiments out and we all assembled our own plates.  Don’t worry, I moved that big knife before my four-year old put hers together.

– Catherine

Trackbacks

  1. […] The happy ending of this story is that my husband was due back the next day (yesterday).  I think I recovered by making a family favorite, Chinese Five Spice Pork Lettuce Wraps. […]

  2. […] Monday, we had a family favorite, Chinese Five Spice Braised Pork, which I’ve written about here and here.  And, because the food provided for the Encyclopedia Corps is not heavy on fresh fruits […]

Leave a Reply

