Blueberry Crostata

Yesterday, I took my girls blueberry picking at a local organic blueberry farm.  We paid for just over two pounds of fresh blueberries, but smuggled much more away in our bloated stomachs.  I threatened the girls that the men at the scales would know by their blue faces just how many blueberries they had eaten in the field and make them pay for the berries with toys, but neither seemed too concerned with the consequences of petty blueberry theft.

We  made the simplest blueberry crostata with the berries.  I just tossed about 2 1/2 cups of the blueberries with 1/3 cup of sugar, a dusting of corn starch, lemon juice, a dash of vanilla and a pinch of cinnamon and baked it in a roll-out pie crust for 15 minutes at 420°.  I had planned to make the pie crust, but we were out blueberry picking all morning, remember?

For dinner, we had a classic Cobb Salad.  I learned from Cook’s Illustrated to add a dash of Worcestershire Sauce to the dressing and you can’t imagine how it elevates a basic vinaigrette to a “Cobb Salad” vinaigrette.

But enough about the salad.  Dinner last night was all about getting to dessert.

– Catherine

Comments

  1. Yummy!! That looks de-lish ~ thanks for srhniag! And great tutorial! I especially love the blue pie dish ~ I have lots of blue in my kitchen. So sorry to hear about your Sonic mishap…didn’t sound like too much fun. Glad to hear you are feeling better!

Trackbacks

  1. […] for something new.  Is it just me, or did the grocery store roll-out pie crust make a prettier crostata?  (Hope Martha doesn’t unfriend me for saying […]

Leave a Reply

