Linguine with Squash, Zucchini and Basil

Last night, I made zucchini pasta again, using both squash and zucchini.  I make this often during the summer because it’s so easy and so delicious.

I use the mandolin to slice the squash and zucchini very thin and add that to about a half cup of olive oil with two cloves of chopped garlic and saute until the squash and zucchini are soft and translucent.

The starch from the vegetables mixes with the olive oil and makes a sauce.  When the pasta is ready, I add about a half cup of starchy pasta water to the vegetables with the pasta and let the whole thing thicken before finishing it with fresh basil and parmesan.

I also made another blueberry crostata, using Martha’s recipe for Pate Brisee.  While I love these, I think I’ll use the next batch of fresh blueberries for something new.  Is it just me, or did the grocery store roll-out pie crust make a prettier crostata?  (Hope Martha doesn’t unfriend me for saying that.)

– Catherine

Leave a Reply

