What is the German word for Durkee?

I was in the soup aisle of the grocery store the other day when I overheard a German lady ask another shopper if she knew the recipe for Green Bean Casserole.  Once she knew which ingredients to buy she wanted to know where to find the french fried onions.  Of course, they are kept directly across the aisle from the creamed soups where I was standing/eavesdropping, so I handed the German lady a container of Durkee.  She was ever so grateful that there seemed to be so many who were so familiar with this famous recipe.  She explained that she had family visiting from Germany who recently tried the Green Bean Casserole and wanted to take the ingredients home with them. Before my brain could tell my mouth to stop, my mouth blurted out  “Why?!?!”.  All I could imagine at that moment was a German lady standing at the airline check-in desk with her suitcase sitting on that industrial scale that was moaning under the weight of creamed soup and french fried onions.  Come to think of it, I’ve heard my bathroom scale make that same sound the day after Thanksgiving.  Badump-ch!

On my way home, my mind reeled.  I tried to imagine what food an American housewife would try to smuggle home in a suitcase to recreate a food memory from her German vacation.  Paprika, cured meats, spicy mustard, or a Black Forest cake?   I wasn’t able to shake the vision of Germans sitting around a biergarten table passing a casserole dish shouting “Jawohl!” as they mounded creamed soup and Durkee on their plates.  In order to bring a little order back to the Universe, I made Jagerschnitzel last night using thinly pounded out chicken breasts instead of pork.  I wondered though, if I asked a German lady in a German grocery store for the recipe for Jagerschnitzel, would she roll her eyes and hand me a box of Durkee.

Chicken Jagerschnitzel 

2 pounds of boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1/2 cup flour

salt and pepper

2 T of unsalted butter

2 T of olive oil

1 pound of mushrooms, sliced 1/4” thick

1 onion, diced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

3 T of sherry

1 cup of cream

1 sprig of rosemary

salt and pepper, to taste

Pound out two pounds of chicken breasts into thin cutlets about 1/4” thick.  Salt, pepper and lightly dust in flour and then sauté over medium-high heat in 2 tablespoons of olive oil and 2 tablespoons of butter.  Cook until brown on both sides and then remove to a warm plate and keep covered.

Add 2 tablespoons of olive oil to the hot pan.  Add the mushrooms, diced onion, garlic, and one sprig of rosemary and sauté until most of the liquid from the mushrooms has evaporated.  Deglaze the pan with the sherry.  Once almost all of the liquid has evaporated, add the cream.  Turn the heat to medium low and simmer until the liquid has thickened and reduced by half, about 10 minutes.  Remove the rosemary sprig and pour over the warm chicken.

-Andra

Leave a Reply

