Lamb Chops (or, Why I Renewed My Costco Membership)

Last night, I was reminded of one of the many reasons I love Costco.  They have the best lamb, which I sort of forgot about in those lost years of a dormant Costco membership.  Last night I had a rack of lamb that I cut into lamb chops and marinated in olive oil, lemon juice, garlic and rosemary for just over an hour:

I pan seared the individual lamb chops for a couple of minutes on each side and then deglazed the pan with more lemon juice.  Once the lemon juice reduced, I added a pat of butter and then poured it all into a blender with mint, basil and a little more rosemary to pour over everything at the table.  My intention was to make a chimichurri sauce, but I didn’t have parsley, so this was my concession.

I also made a white bean salad with large lima beans and herb and garlic sautéed grape tomatoes.  When I saw the recipe for Lima Beans with Red Wine Vinaigrette in the latest issue of Bon Appétit, I decided to make my mother’s lima bean salad.  I’m pretty sure Bon Appétit is just waiting for her to give them the go-ahead to publish her version, which is so good, you’ll stand in the kitchen eating bowl after bowl of it until you’re uncomfortably full.  And then, when you can’t eat another bite, my father will hand you a beer.  And then, it will be noon.

Vicki’s Lima Bean Salad

1 1-lb bag of large lima beans

Rice Wine Vinegar

1 tsp Dijon mustard

Canola or grapeseed oil

One clove of garlic, chopped

1/2 cup chopped scallions

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

Cook the beans according to the quick soak method, bringing to a boil for a few minutes and then taking them off the heat and letting the beans sit in the hot water for an hour and a half until tender.  If the beans are still undercooked, bring back to a simmer and continue to simmer gently until done, being careful not to overcook them, testing at five-minute increments.

Drain and toss the warm beans with a vinaigrette made with Dijon mustard, rice wine vinegar, canola or grapeseed oil, a clove of chopped garlic, chopped scallions and cilantro.  Finish with cayenne or sumac if young diners will allow.

– Catherine

Trackbacks

  1. […] Or maybe breakfast,  it’s been known to happen.  Ask Catherine about how many bowls of lima beans she’s had before noon.  Some might call it a […]

Leave a Reply

