Summer Roast Chicken

We eat roast chicken pretty often.  Because we eat it so much, I have a couple of tricks to give the meal variety.  In the winter, I add grainy Dijon mustard and thinly sliced onions to the bed of potatoes and I’ll occasionally make a beurre blanc sauce for both the chicken and the salad.  But in the summer, I try to keep the meal light with lots of lemon and fresh herbs.  I’ll sometimes use butter on the chicken, but if I’m trying to keep it tasting light and am using lots of lemon, I’ll only use olive oil for the potatoes and chicken.  Last night I got a handful of herbs (rosemary, thyme and parsley) from the garden and stuffed them in the cavity with a quartered lemon.

For the potatoes, I just used lemon juice and olive oil, salt and pepper, lemon wedges and more fresh thyme.  The lemon wedges roast and get caramelized along with the potatoes that I cut into rounds instead of wedges because they cook more evenly and have more surface area to get crunchy.  I roasted the whole thing at 375° for an hour and a half, checking with a meat thermometer toward the end  of the cooking time to ensure I didn’t overcook it.

I’ve tried a number of cooking vessels for roast chicken and I love the cast iron skillet, but when you have a chicken as big as I did last night, you’re sort of stuck using the largest dish you have, which in my case is this enormous Pyrex.  Pyrex isn’t glamorous (unless you work in a laboratory), but it’s dishwasher safe, which I love.

You know what would be glamorous?  Roast chicken in one of the new Dansk Kobenstyle enamelware bakers that Crate and Barrel is selling again for the first time in more than 20 years (shipping when they’re available):

Image via Crate and Barrel

Image via Crate and Barrel

But, when you have a four-year old and a two-year old, dishwasher safe still beats glamour.  Most of the time.  If this were under the Christmas tree, I’d happily hand wash it after roast chicken every week.

– Catherine

Trackbacks

  1. […] eat roast chicken about once a week, which I’ve mentioned here, here and here.  Because we eat it so often, I try to mix it up by using variations on the basic […]

  2. […] reached a new milestone this week.  As I’ve mentioned over and over and over again, I roast a chicken about once a week and have always roasted one for the four of us.  Until […]

Leave a Reply

