Linguine with Fried Eggs and a Weekly Dinner Evolution

My husband ran the Wildwood Half Marathon here in New Jersey on Sunday morning.  I wish I could say that running 13.1 miles was something unusual for him, but he does it most weekends.  He just usually does it alone.  On the occasion when he’s running an official race, we treat it like a special occasion and do unusual things like skip Happy Hour and eat as many carbs as possible the night before.

We’ve talked a lot about what constitutes the best pre-race dinner over the past year.  Andra is convinced that the unique combination of complex carbs and protein in Polenta, Swiss Chard and Eggs makes it the best choice.  I’m convinced it should be meatless, but I still vote for pasta.  As of Saturday night, I believe we have a new winner.

I made a variation of Mark Bittman’s Spaghetti with Fried Eggs.  In the step where the olive oil is infused with garlic, I added a sprig of rosemary.  I didn’t have spaghetti, but I loved the heartier linguine with it.  I used five eggs for one pound of pasta and there was enough for the four of us with seconds and leftovers.

The run went so well that we didn’t skip happy hour on Sunday.

For dinner on Sunday, I made our weekly staple, “Quiche with Whatever You Have Without Going to the Store”.  (That’s the official name of it.)  We eat this often, as you can see here and here.   Here’s the rundown of the easiest, last-minute dinner (other than pasta) in my repertoire.

Preheat the oven to 375° and defrost the frozen (gasp), roll-out pie-crust.  Crack six eggs and whisk them with a cup of cream, salt, pepper and a dash of nutmeg.  Roll out the pie crust into a pie dish, tart pan or springform pan.

Clean vegetables and sautee them in olive oil, butter or (best yet), saved bacon grease (that’s what’s in that tall ramekin).

Pour vegetables into the crust.

Top with cheese.  Any kind.  We like goat cheese.

Top with egg and cream mixture.

Bake at 375° for about 30 minutes or until the center is no longer jiggly.  Yes, I said jiggly.

Serve with salad.

– Catherine

Leave a Reply

