Salmon, Kale and Mushroom Rice Bowl

I could eat some version of this meal every night and be very happy.  I love the combination of ginger, soy and sesame oil.   I love Asian flavors so much that I was convinced that there must be some Asian influence in my family tree somewhere.  When I was seven, I told my class that I was Korean which completely confused my teacher and made it very difficult for my non-Korean parents to pick me up from school.  My mom finally told the teacher that she had bulgogi on the stove at home and needed to get going.  That night over our bulgogi dinner my parents let me in our lineage.  It turned out I was not Korean after all, but a combination of Lebanese, French Canadian and Pennsylvania Dutch.  How does that happen?

Back to dinner, I served this over jasmine rice in a bowl so that all of the flavors would run down into the rice.  The salmon, kale, and mushrooms are each flavorful enough to stand on their own but together creates a kind of deconstructed stir-fry with the rice absorbing the best of all of it.  That seems like that could be a metaphor for something.

-Andra

Ginger Soy Salmon

2 lbs of salmon

1/2 cup soy

1 tablespoon of ginger

1 tablespoon of Dijon mustard

1 teaspoon of honey

2 teaspoons of minced garlic

Combine all of the ingredients for the marinade.  Pour marinade over salmon and let sit for 30 minutes to an hour.

Preheat oven to 350.  Heat a grill pan over medium high heat  and place the salmon skin side up cook for 4 minutes.  Turn fish over and move to the oven for 5-6 minutes, or until fish is cooked.

Kale and Mushrooms 

1 teaspoon of sesame oil

1 tablespoon of mirin

2 teaspoons of freshly grated ginger

1 teaspoon of minced garlic

1 tablespoon of soy

1 tablespoon of toasted sesame seeds

1 pound of kale, chopped

1/2 lb mushroom, sliced

In a wok, heat the sesame oil and mirin.  Add the ginger and garlic and stir until fragrant, about one minute.  Add the kale and cook until wilted.  Add the mushrooms and continue to cook until mushroom soften.  Removed from heat and add the soy sauce and sesame seeds.

Comments

  1. Ewww, now I have one of your delish kale recipes!

  2. Rounds of applause from this dinner table. WONDERFUL recipes!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Salmon, Kale and Mushroom Rice Bowl at Our Last Supper […]

Leave a Reply

