Paella: Summer’s best last supper

We’re one week into the new school year.  The collective mom-cheers as the bus pulled away last Tuesday signaled the official end of summer.  Last week I finally downloaded all of the pictures from our camera after almost a full summer and it was like watching a slide show of the last three months as they were dumped onto the computer.  The standout event of the summer was our move from Florida to Virginia.  We are happily settled in our new home and we’re finding lots to see and explore in Virginia.  But, I do miss Florida.  I miss the fresh seafood from our favorite guys at Cool Fish, the white sandy beaches and all of our friends that we left behind.  But most of all, I miss being able to run to my parent’s house whenever I wanted,  knowing they would drop whatever they were doing to sit and chat for an hour or two.  And chances are, whenever I stopped by, it would be happy hour.  This post isn’t about our official last supper but one of the best and most memorable last suppers we had this summer.

Many of our last suppers before we left Florida were provided by my wonderful parents who had graciously invited us to stay in their home as we moved out of and cleaned our house.   On our last night in Florida my mom and dad served us a paella with Gulf shrimp, chorizo sausage, fresh bay scallops and chicken thighs.    We sat in the kitchen and watched my mom cook and talked about everything and nothing.  Sitting in my mom’s kitchen as she cooked has always been fun but now as I look back at these pictures, I see that I had missed some of the subtle messages she was passing along with each motion and movement that went into making this meal for us.  -Andra

“Don’t take no cutoffs and hurry along as fast as you can.”

Call us and let us know you arrived safely. We’ll want to hear all about your new house and neighborhood.

You can come back anytime. You’re always welcome.

We love you!

Leave a Reply

