Almond Chicken Soup with Sweet Potato, Kale and Ginger

I have to confess that as I made this soup, I was wrinkling up my nose.  The consistency looked too soupy; the chicken just bobbed around in this watery brown broth and every once in a while a cube of sweet potato would pop up and sit on the surface.  It looked like something I don’t want to see sitting on my stove top.  I was quite positive that my family was going to revolt which hadn’t happened since the “mustard green event of 2011”.  Imagine my shock when everyone said it was their new favorite soup.   I was glad I powered through and didn’t send the whole pot down the garbage disposal as I waited for the pizza guy.  Keep this one in mind when you’re looking for a pre-trick-or-treating meal.

This recipe reminded me of a stew we had while in Africa.  OK, not the real Africa, but the Animal Kingdom Africa, in Orlando.  The ginger, garlic and nutty almond flavors combined with some of our favorite vegetables were a winning combination.  The ingredients looked delicious and even better, I had them all on hand.  The lime is essential, make sure you have a good-sized wedge to squeeze over each bowl.   -Andra

Almond Chicken Soup with Sweet Potato, Kale, and Ginger adapted from Whole Living, January/February 2011

4 cups chicken stock

1/2 yellow onion, diced

1 minced garlic clove

1 large sweet potato, peeled and diced (2 cups)

8 ounces boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into 1-inch pieces

1/2 cup smooth almond butter

1 cup kale leaves, coarsely chopped

2 tablespoons minced fresh ginger

Coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper

1 lime, cut into wedges

Combine the stock, onion, garlic, and sweet potato in a stockpot and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to a simmer and add the chicken, then cover and simmer for 20 minutes.

In a small bowl, whisk together the almond butter and 1/2 cup of the soup mixture into a thick paste. Add the kale leaves and ginger to the soup and bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer, covered, for 5 minutes. Stir in the almond butter paste. Season with salt and pepper.

Ladle the soup into bowls, and squeeze with lime wedge.  For a little heat, add a squirt of Siracha or crushed red pepper at the table.

Comments

  1. As a guy living by mylsef and working two jobs and a home based business, I don’t want to spend time cooking. Yet fast food every night gets old and expensive. This book is ideal for those of us who want to throw something together and have it ready to go when we finally get home. It begins with a description of modern slow cooking. I was still in a crockpot mindset. And he gives a lot of tips on how to properly use a slow cooker, saving me from burning up food. If you’re a chef or a fast food junkie, this may not be for you. But if you’d like more healthy, home cooked meals in less time than you now spend waiting in drive-thru lines, get this book.

Leave a Reply

