The Easiest Potato Soup Ever (or, How I Saved Our Anniversary)

Last night was one of those acts of pantry desperation that turned out so well I acted like it was premeditated.  Yesterday was our eighth wedding anniversary.  I had a babysitter and reservations lined up, but stuff happens and we ended up rain checking the celebration.

Instead we ate my last-minute, completely intentionally delicious soup and salad.  As most good things do, it started with bacon.  Then potatoes and rosemary, a drizzle of olive oil and chives and a simple salad.

At this point, I wasn’t exactly sure which direction I was going, but I hate hand washing my immersion blender, so…

I used a potato masher to break up the cooked potatoes to a rustic, stew-like consistency.

There was a slight rosemary flavor from the rosemary sprig steeping in the broth, but I added another layer on top of the finished soup with this salt:

The salad was simply arugula, hearts of palm and big Spanish olives with olive oil and lemon juice.  (I can’t be bothered to make a vinaigrette on my anniversary.)

It worked.  So well in fact that I think we’ll eat this for our 9th anniversary.  We might actually make it to a restaurant for the big One Oh.

Rustic Potato Soup

5-6 strips of bacon, sliced crosswise into 1/2 pieces

1 onion

6 cups of diced potatoes, about 4 lbs (I used Yukon Gold)

1 sprig of rosemary

4 cups of chicken broth

3/4 cup coarsely grated cheese (I used Gruyère)

Cook the bacon over medium heat in a large Dutch oven until crispy and remove with a slotted spoon.  Reserve bacon.  Add diced onion to rendered bacon grease and cook until translucent.  Add potatoes, chicken broth and rosemary.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat and then simmer until potatoes are cooked through.  Remove rosemary sprig with tongs.  Use a potato masher to break up the potatoes until you reach desired consistency.  (Or an immersion blender for a smoother consistency.)  Salt and pepper to taste.  Before serving, stir the cheese into the soup until melted.  Serve soup with reserved bacon, sour cream or plain Greek yogurt and chopped chives.

Comments

  1. goodbye to a foster child who steayd with us for a year, and he just adored honeycrisps. just saw them back on the grocer’s shelf, and almost cried. i’m going to have to ease into apple season this year. or maybe just get one good cry out of my system and push through! cheers!

Leave a Reply

