Welcome Home Week, Continued

Last night was night three of Welcome Home Week.  We had Roast Chicken, which I make almost weekly, so I was happy to hear it was missed.

IMG_2328

In case you can’t read my serial-killer handwriting, that menu reads:

Boshetto Tartufo with Truffle and Fresh Pear

Lemon Roast Chicken with Potatoes and Arugula

~~ Intermission for Bedtime (For Those Under 5-years-old) ~~

Berries with Chambord and Vanilla Cream

with Talisker (& Reading)

IMG_2314

IMG_2338 IMG_2336

I’ve made lots of roast chickens (or is the plural chicken?) and I’ve learned that separate salad plates when you have all those great juices are just a waste of dishwasher and table space.  I always make a very lemony vinaigrette with this and drizzle it over the top of the chicken, potatoes and salad, but it’s the mixture of the vinaigrette and pan juices that makes the “sauce”.  I’ve also learned to cut the potatoes into rounds, or “coins” because they lay flat on the bottom and sides of the cast iron and get brown and crispy more evenly than wedges.

When I plate the chicken, I just cut the breasts into thick slices and lay them on the salad and potatoes.  This chicken feeds my family of four very well.  There are never many leftovers, but I do save what’s left for chicken stock.

IMG_2347 IMG_2340

For dessert, we skipped the Berries with Chambord and Vanilla Cream and just had a little bit of the Talisker with a dramatic reading of Robert Louis Stevenson’s “The Scotsman’s Return From Abroad”.   My husband is not Scottish, but it’s hard to find a poem titled, “The Part English and Part Italian’s Return from South West Asia,” so we made do with what was on hand.

– Catherine

Trackbacks

  1. […] reached a new milestone this week.  As I’ve mentioned over and over and over again, I roast a chicken about once a week and have always roasted one for the […]

Leave a Reply

