Mexican Pizza

IMG_2966

Last night, I ate Mexican Pizza for the first time in about twenty-five years.  I decided to make a meal I knew would be a home run for my kids after a week of very adult eating.  My mother didn’t make meals aimed at getting kids to eat; she didn’t have to, everything she made was delicious for everyone at the table.  I can’t imagine my mother ever owning a book like we all have now with surreptitious ways to get vegetables into children or creative plating tactics to “trick” kids into eating a balanced meal.  Mexican Pizza was as close as she came to tailoring something for us.  That’s what I thought when I made it last night, anyway.

But, then I ate it and remembered how good it is.  I got worried there wouldn’t be any leftovers for me to eat today standing in front of the refrigerator alone, Nigella-style.  Forget kids, I’m making this the next time we don’t have to arm wrestle those jerks to get the last piece.

We piled each piece with lettuce, tomatoes, diced avocado, jalepeños, salsa and used plain Greek yogurt as a stand-in for sour cream.  So, even for a “kid’s meal”, it wasn’t entirely unhealthy.   No sneakiness required.

– Catherine

IMG_2957
Mexican Pizza

1 lb of ground beef, cooked using Andra’s taco recipe

3 oz Monterey Jack Cheese, grated

3 oz Cheddar cheese, grated

1 can of refried beans (I used pinto beans that I mashed myself)

6-8 flour tortillas

Preheat oven to 400°.  Line a non-stick baking sheet with flour tortillas, overlapping as necessary, leaving about an inch overlapping the edge of the pan.  Use a spatula to spread the refried beans over the tortillas.  Spread the beef mixture and top with the cheese and bake until cheese has melted and the tortillas are crisp and starting to brown, about 15-20 minutes.  Cut into squares and pass Greek yogurt, lettuce, diced tomatoes and avocado and salsa at the table.

Comments

  1. Kevin J. says:

    Yum! We are definitely trying this one over the weekend!

Leave a Reply

